Wake and Whimsy

Easy Chicken Enchilada Soup

Leave a comment

soup003

So last night, I really wanted to try something different for dinner. Because of our cooler temperatures outside lately, I have been in the mood for a good soup. I’ve always wanted to try a chicken enchilada type recipe, but have never found one that I like. Not wanting to give up on this soup, I decided to invent my own. I usually tweak the recipes I find, but have never totally just made one up myself. Luckily, it was a big hit. I was so pleased with the way it turned out that I think it will definitely become one of our regular meals. Besides tasting great, this dinner was very inexpensive. Everything besides the chicken cost me less than two dollars, and a lot of it I already had in my pantry. You can’t beat that!

Here is my recipe for Easy Chicken Enchilada Soup

Ingredients:
*three large cans of tomato soup
*one green pepper, chopped
*one can of corn
*one 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce
*one 4.5 oz. can of green chiles
*one small onion, chopped
*2.5 cups of brown rice
*one lb. boneless skinless chicken breast
*salt and pepper
*water

 Instructions:
Heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit
Put all chicken in a glass baking dish, cover with tin foil, and put in the oven for at least an hour or until chicken is cooked through
As the chicken is cooking, turn your stove burner on medium heat
Empty all 3 cans of tomato soup into a large pot. I added water to mine to thin the soup out some. Just add one cup at a time until it reaches your desired consistency. I think I added about 2.5-3 cups water. Stir really well.
Now add your can of corn, chopped onion, chopped green pepper, can of enchilada sauce, and can of green chiles to your tomato soup. Season with a pinch of salt and ground black pepper. Stir well.
Cover your pot and turn heat down to low, stirring occasionally.
While your soup is simmering and your chicken is still cooking, go ahead and cook your rice.
Once the rice is tender, add it to the soup and stir. Cover soup until chicken is done.
When your chicken has cooked all the way through, remove it from the oven and gently shred it. Add it to the soup, and give it a good stir.
Cover your soup letting the chicken marinate in it for about 30 minutes. Keep stirring occasionally and season a little more if needed.
When you’re ready to serve your dish, top it with some shredded cheese, and serve with tortilla chips.

soup001

I love this soup because it is extremely filling, and has just a little spice to it.
With this recipe, I was able to feed the whole family and still have leftovers for later in the week.

Enjoy!

Thoughts?

